top of page
51DwYpsPoLL (1).jpg

It is late summer in Hampshirem and former headmistress, Harriet Quigley, is enjoying life.

Her cousin Sam is moving next door and the only cloud on the horizon is village gossip about a man who disappeared months earlier, and a more recent near-fatal accident. Suddenly it's all going pear-shaped - and sensible, practical Harriet has only herself to blame.

Sam has warned her not to play at being Miss Marple but despite her cousin's strictures Harriet is suspicious about several newcomers and she's been asking discreet questions.


There's an enigmatic artist, a good-looking vicar, a handsome Texan, a millionaire orchid-fancier, and Elvis, the plumber. To cap it all someone's seen the family ghost and only her young cousin Edith takes Harriet's anxieties seriously.


With a sudden death in Winchester Cathedral, a treasure hunt that attracts unwelcome attentions, and history that looms uncomfortably close, Harriet finds herself trapped somewhere very nasty - and she's not alone.

About Nicola Slade...

Nicola Slade has been a Brown Owl and an antiques dealer, and once lived in Cairo for a year.


Her published novels include a romantic comedy, Scuba Dancing, three Victorian mysteries featuring young Victorian widow, Charlotte Richmond, and three contemporary mysteries about recently-retired headmistress, Harriet Quigley, and her clergyman cousin, Canon Sam Hathaway.


Her eighth novel, The House at Ladywell, a contemporary romance with historical echoes, came out in November 2017. Nicola’s family is now grown up and she lives with her husband near Winchester in Hampshire.

Other Books By
Nicola Slade

bottom of page